//Environmental Characterization (Phases 2 & 3)
Environmental Characterization (Phases 2 & 3)2018-11-08T12:00:07+00:00

Environmental Characterization (Phases 2 & 3)

Samples of soils and/or groundwater are taken during environmental characterization activities conducted on the surveyed property.

Phase 2 is referred to as the preliminarily environmental characterization, whereas phase 3 is referred to as the complementary environmental characterization. If signs of contamination are detected on the property during phase 2 completion and the level of contamination is required to better plan for the decontamination work, a second environmental characterization can be carried out solely for the contaminated area. That is the phase 3 complementary environmental characterization.

Phase 3 is therefore required in some cases to better determine the surface and depth of contamination, to better budget and plan for the decontamination work.

All environmental characterizations are conducted in accordance with the provisions of the CSA Z769-01 standard of the Canadian Standards Council and in compliance with the specifications issued by the MDDELCC.

The main stages of an environmental characterization are as follows:

  • Plan the sampling campaign from the contamination sources identified during Phase 1: Sampling Patron (ground and/or surface waters, soils and/or sediments), sampling method and number of surveys, projected number of laboratory test samples, cost and work timeframe.

  • Harnessing the necessary human and material resources.

  • Proceeding with requests for authorization (as necessary).

  • Locating underground infrastructures.

  • Realizing characterization work.

  • Submitting samples to laboratory analysis.

  • Interpreting laboratory analyses results according to prescribed criteria.

  • Drafting the technical report and making recommendations.

Service de Caractérisation environnementale (Phase 2 et 3) - Environnement PH

A closer look

The soil contamination level is based on the generic use criteria found in Schedule 2 of the MDDELCC’s Soil Protection and Rehabilitation of Contaminated Sites Policy (SPRCSP), namely levels A, B and C.

Based on the use of the property being assessed (e.g. residential, commercial, industrial), levels of contaminants on site will be tolerated to some degree.

For example, the contamination level authorized for a commercial property is level C, whereas as it is level B for a residential property. Generic criteria are therefore used as decontamination objectives relative to site use as well as indicators of contaminated soil management.

The SPRCSP sets levels A, B and C as follows:

Level A: Background content for inorganic parameters and quantification limit for organic parameters.

Level B: Maximum acceptable limit for residential, recreational and institutional areas (e.g. hospitals, schools and day care facilities). Also included are commercial parcels located in a residential area. Recreational use includes cases with different sensitivities. Sensitive uses, such as playgrounds, must be managed according to level B criteria.

Level C: Maximum acceptable limit for commercial parcels not located in a residential area and for industrial parcels. Recreational uses such as cycle tracks are considered less sensitive and may be managed according to level C criteria.

The SPRCSP provides that environmental responses (e.g. contamination due to a one-time event and insurance request) are expected to achieve the level of decontamination established in the SPRCSP following its coming into force and that the site is to be reclaimed to equivalent pre-disturbance conditions. In the case of unknown pre-disturbance conditions, the site must be decontaminated to achieve background levels provided in the generic use matrix.

Learn more

Groundwater contamination is defined in Appendix 2 of the MDDELCC’s Soil Protection and Contaminated Sites Rehabilitation Policy.

Two use criteria are set: namely the “consumption” criterion, which is considered if groundwater wells are located on the premises of the study, and the “seepage into surface waters or infiltration into sewers” criterion used in other instances.

Good knowledge of site geology and hydrogeology and the physical and chemical properties of contaminants is essential to obtain a good sampling pattern. Therefore, the investigation methods and sampling campaign are project-specific and require great expertise.

Several techniques can be used to draw soil and water samples.

For soils:

Depending on the site’s constraints and features, soil samples are usually drawn using test drilling or trenches. During drilling, soil cores are drawn using split spoons. Soil core sampling provides a good insight into contamination depth while limiting soil disturbances and activity disruptions on site.

In some cases, it is important to opt for test trenches. Test trenches are dug using excavators and give a better idea of the extent of contamination in the first layers of soil (2-5 meter deep).

For groundwaters:

To allow groundwater sampling, an observation well comprised of a PVC strainer is installed in a borehole. The observation well’s straining section must allow the sampling of groundwater from the suspected source of contamination regardless of fluctuations in the water table level.

Observation wells are installed according to the handbook 3 (groundwater sampling) guidelines of the MDDELCC’s guidance manual for environmental analyses sampling.

During soil characterization, analysis of the stratigraphy (nature of soils) and environmental quality (e.g. organoleptic contamination indication) of soils surveyed are performed. Those samples most representative and likely to demonstrate contamination are analyzed in a laboratory. Soil and water samples are shipped to an independent and MDDELCC-certified laboratory.

Several factors play a role in the number and type of analysis performed (e.g. type of contaminant, source and extent of contamination, etc.). Therefore, each project is unique and must be conducted by a team of experts.

Following a Phase 2 environmental characterization, three recommendations can be made:

  1. When all soil and/or groundwater samples analyzed indicate compliance with the SPRCSP criteria, no additional investigation is recommended. The site is then considered free from environmental constraints in the surveyed areas.
  2. Where concentrations above the site criteria are identified, it may be recommended to conduct, in some instances, a complementary Phase 3 environmental characterization to determine the extent of contamination. This Phase 3 study makes it possible to better budget and plan decontamination work.
  3. Finally, where concentrations above the site criteria are identified, it may be recommended to proceed with decontamination work directly.

A quality assurance and control program for soil and groundwater is carried out to ensure the reliability of laboratory analysis results. All sampling campaigns conducted by Environnement PH inc. include a quality control program that meets MDDELCC requirements.

The number of duplicate samples drawn for the purposes of the control program is partly based on the heterogeneity of the land as well as the objectives and issues of each project.

Handbook 1 of the guidance manual for environmental analyses sampling states that at least 10% of duplicate samples must be analyzed to ensure the scientific validy of assessed test results. However, a minimum of 1 duplicate per sample batch must be analyzed.

Furthermore, a chemical analysis report with the stamp of the chemist responsible for laboratory analyses is provided at the end of the mandate. This analysis report also determines the validity of the sampling campaign results. It should be noted that analyses are conducted by an independent, MDDELCC-certified laboratory.

The CSA Z769-00 standard sets out the principles that guide the conduct of a Phase 2 Environmental Site Assessment (or Phase 2 Environmental Site Characterization). It guides the conduct of a Phase 2 and provides the minimum working methods to meet regulatory requirements. This standard is a follow-up to CSA Z768-01 used during Phase 1 Environmental Site Assessments.

All Phase 2 Environmental Characterizations conducted at Environnement PH inc. are Z769-00 compliant.

Learn more about the next phase (4)

Decontamination work

Learn more

Any questions?

Contact us. We will gladly provide you with advice and solutions to your problems.

contact us

//Caractérisation environnementale (phase 2 et 3)
Caractérisation environnementale (phase 2 et 3)2018-11-07T18:36:41+00:00

Caractérisation environnementale (phase 2 & 3)

C’est lors des travaux de caractérisation environnementale que des échantillons de sols et/ou des eaux souterraines sont prélevés sur la propriété à l’étude.

La Phase 2 se nomme caractérisation environnementale préliminaire, alors que la Phase 3 se nomme caractérisation environnementale complémentaire. Si une contamination est décelée sur la propriété au cours de la réalisation de la Phase 2 et que l’on souhaite déterminer l’ampleur de la contamination dans le but de mieux prévoir les travaux de décontamination, une seconde caractérisation environnementale peut être effectuée uniquement dans le secteur contaminé, soit la caractérisation environnementale complémentaire Phase 3.

La Phase 3 est donc dans certains cas requise afin de mieux déterminer le panache de contamination tant en superficie qu’en profondeur, et ce dans le but de mieux budgéter et planifier les travaux de décontamination.

Toutes les caractérisations environnementales sont réalisées conformément aux dispositions de la norme CSA Z769-01 du Conseil canadien des normes et respectent les Guides de caractérisations publiés par le MELCC.

Les principales étapes d’une caractérisation environnementale sont les suivantes :

  • Planifier la campagne d’échantillonnage à partir des sources de contamination identifiées lors de l’ÉES Phase 1 : Patron d’échantillonnage (eaux souterraines et/ou de surfaces, sols et/ou des sédiments), méthode d’échantillonnage et nombre de sondages, nombre projeté d’échantillons à analyser en laboratoire, coût et échéancier des travaux.
  • Rassembler les ressources humaines et matérielles requises.
  • Procéder aux demandes d’autorisation (au besoin).
  • Localiser les infrastructures souterraines.
  • Réaliser les travaux de caractérisation.
  • Analyser les échantillons en laboratoire.
  • Interpréter les résultats des analyses en laboratoire en fonction des critères d’usage.
  • Rédiger le rapport technique et formuler des recommandations.
Service de Caractérisation environnementale (Phase 2 et 3) - Environnement PH

Plus en détails

Le degré de contamination des sols est déterminé à partir des critères génériques d’usage de l’Annexe 2 de la Politique de protection des sols et de réhabilitation des terrains contaminés (PPSRTC) du MDDELCC, soit les niveaux A, B et C.

Une certaine tolérance concernant la présence de contaminants sur une propriété existe en fonction de l’usage de celle-ci (ex. : résidentiel, commercial, industriel).

Par exemple, pour une propriété commerciale, le degré de contamination accepté est le niveau C alors que pour une propriété résidentielle le niveau est B. Les critères génériques sont donc utilisés comme objectifs de décontamination par rapport à l’usage du site ainsi que comme indicateur du mode de gestion des sols contaminés.

La PPSRTC défini les niveaux A, B et C comme suit :

Niveau A : Teneurs de fond pour les paramètres inorganiques et limite de quantification pour les paramètres organiques.

Niveau B : Limite maximale acceptable pour des terrains à vocation résidentielle, récréative et institutionnelle (ex. : hôpitaux, écoles et garderies). Sont également inclus les terrains à vocation commerciale situés dans un secteur résidentiel. L’usage récréatif regroupe des cas avec des différentes sensibilités. Les usages sensibles, comme les terrains de jeu, devront être gérés en fonction du niveau B.

Niveau C : Limite maximale acceptable pour des terrains à vocation commerciale, non situés dans un secteur résidentiel, et pour des terrains à usage industriel. Les usages récréatifs considérés moins sensibles comme les pistes cyclables peuvent être associés au niveau C.

La PPSRTC précise que dans le cas d’intervention (ex. : contamination suite à un événement ponctuel et cas de requête auprès d’un assureur), le niveau de décontamination à atteindre pour toute contamination survenue suite à l’entrée en vigueur de la PPSRTC est de remettre le site à l’étude dans l’état qu’il était avant l’événement. Advenant que l’état du terrain avant l’événement soit inconnu, le site devra être décontaminé afin d’atteindre les teneurs de fond présentées dans la grille de critères génériques.

En savoir plus

Le degré de contamination des eaux souterraines est quant à lui défini à l’intérieur de l’Annexe 2 de la Politique de protection des sols et de réhabilitation des terrains contaminés du MDDELCC.

Deux critères d’usage sont établis, soit le critère « aux fins de consommation » dont on tient compte si des puits de captage des eaux souterraines sont présents dans le secteur à l’étude, soit le critère de « résurgence dans les eaux de surface ou infiltration dans les égouts » que l’on utilise dans les autres cas.

Une bonne connaissance de la géologie et de l’hydrogéologie du site de même que des propriétés physiques et chimiques des contaminants est essentielle afin de réaliser un bon patron d’échantillonnage. Les méthodes d’investigations et la campagne d’échantillonnage sont donc spécifiques à chaque projet et nécessitent une grande expertise.

Plusieurs techniques peuvent être employées afin de prélever des échantillons de sols et d’eau.

Pour les sols :
Tout dépendant des contraintes et particularités du site à l’étude, les sols sont généralement prélevés à l’aide de forages ou de tranchés d’exploration. Lors de la réalisation des forages, des carottes de sols sont prélevés à l’aide de cuillères fendues. Le prélèvement de carottes de sols permet d’avoir un bon aperçu de la profondeur de la contamination tout en restreignant la perturbation des sols et des activités présentes sur le site.

Dans certains cas, il est préférable de procéder à la réalisation de tranchées d’exploration. Les tranchées d’exploration sont réalisées à l’aide d’excavatrices et elles permettent d’avoir une meilleure idée de la superficie de la contamination localisée dans les premiers horizons de sol (2 à 5 mètres de profondeur).

Pour les eaux souterraines :
Afin de permettre le prélèvement de l’eau souterraine, un puits d’observation composé d’une crépine en PVC est installé à l’intérieur d’un forage. La section crépinée du puits d’observation doit permettre de capter l’eau souterraine du secteur où la source de contamination a été suspectée et tenir compte des fluctuations du niveau des nappes.

Les puits d’observations sont installés en respectant les directives du Cahier 3 (Échantillonnage des eaux souterraines) du Guide d’échantillonnage aux fins d’analyses environnementales du MDDELCC.

Lors des travaux de caractérisation des sols, des analyses de la stratigraphie (nature des sols) et de la qualité environnementale (ex.: indices organoleptiques de contamination) des sols rencontrés sont effectuées. Les échantillons les plus représentatifs et susceptibles de présenter une contamination sont analysés en laboratoire. Les échantillons de sols et d’eau prélevés sont expédiés vers un laboratoire indépendant et accrédité par le MDDELCC.

Plusieurs éléments jouent un rôle sur le nombre et le type d’analyses effectuées (ex. : type de contaminant, source et superficie de la contamination, etc.). Par conséquent, chaque projet est unique et nécessite d’être mené par une équipe d’expertise.

Au terme d’une caractérisation environnementale Phase 2, trois recommandations sont possibles :

  1. Lorsque l’ensemble des échantillons de sols et/ou d’eau souterraine analysés en laboratoire indique le respect des critères génériques de la PPSRTC; aucune investigation supplémentaire n’est recommandée. Le site est alors considéré comment étant libre de contraintes environnementales dans les secteurs sondés.
  2. Lorsque des concentrations supérieures aux critères applicables pour le site sont détectées, il peut être recommandé d’effectuer, dans certains cas, une caractérisation environnementale complémentaire Phase 3 afin de déterminer l’ampleur de la contamination. Cette étude Phase 3 permet ainsi de mieux budgéter et planifier les travaux de décontamination.
  3. Finalement, lorsque des concentrations supérieures aux critères applicables pour le site à l’étude sont détectées, il peut être recommandé de procéder directement à la réalisation de travaux de décontamination.
Un programme d’assurance et de contrôle qualité pour les sols et les eaux souterraines est effectué afin d’assurer la fiabilité des résultats des analyses en laboratoire. Toutes les campagnes d’échantillonnage menées par Environnement PH inc. comprennent un programme de contrôle qualité qui respecte les exigences du MDDELCC.

Le nombre d’échantillons prélevés en duplicata pour le programme de contrôle qualité dépend en partie des objectifs, de l’hétérogénéité du milieu et des enjeux propres à chaque projet.

Le Cahier 1 du Guide d’échantillonnage à des fins d’analyse environnementale précise : « qu’un minimum de 10% des échantillons prélevés et analysés en duplicata est nécessaire pour que l’interprétation des résultats du contrôle soit scientifiquement valable. Cependant, un minimum de 1 duplicata par lot d’échantillons destinés à l’analyse doit être respecté ».

En outre, le rapport d’analyse chimique comprenant le sceau du chimiste ayant réalisé les analyses en laboratoire est remis à la fin du mandat. Ce rapport d’analyse statut de surcroit sur la validité des résultats obtenus lors de la campagne d’échantillonnage. Notons que les analyses sont réalisées par un laboratoire indépendant et accrédité par le MDDELCC.

La norme CSA Z769-00 fixe les principes qui encadrent la réalisation d’une Évaluation environnementale de site Phase 2 (ou Caractérisation environnementale de site Phase 2). Elle permet d’encadrer la pratique d’une Phase 2 et de fournir les modalités minimales d’exécutions afin de répondre aux exigences réglementaires. Cette norme constitue un suivi de la norme CSA Z768-01 utilisée lors de l’Évaluation environnementale de site Phase 1.

Toutes les Caractérisations environnementales Phase 2 réalisées chez Environnement PH inc. respectent la norme Z769-00.

Apprenez-en plus sur la prochaine phase (4)

Travaux de décontamination

En savoir plus

Des questions?

Contactez-nous. Il nous fera plaisir de vous éclairer et de trouver solutions à vos problèmes.

contactez-nous