/Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation(LPRR)

Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation(LPRR)

The Land Protection and Rehabilitation Regulation (LPRR) was enacted on February 26, 2003. The purpose of the LPRR is to provide for a greater protection of lands and their rehabilitation in the event of contamination, while ensuring the enforcement of provisions under Division IV. of the Environment Quality Act (sections 31.42 to 31.69).

The main objectives of the legislative amendments are to:

  • Enhance the management of contaminated lands in Quebec
  • Ensure the progressive rehabilitation of contaminated lands
  • End the increase in orphan sites

 

Schedules 1 and 2 of the Regulations set out the regulatory limit values of soil and groundwater use criteria contained in the Soil Protection and Rehabilitation of Contaminated Sites Policy (SPRCSP).

In addition, Schedule 3 of the LPRR lists industrial or commercial activities for which a characterization is required under certain conditions set out in the Environment Quality Act. This regulation also facilitates the enforcement of the Minister’s order authority to require, in some instances, the conduct of characterization (section 31.49) and rehabilitation work (section 31.43).

Finally, the Regulation to amend the RPRT came into force on January 12, 2012. According to the MELCC, this amendment to the LPRR is intended to protect the rights of future buyers and users of multi-use sites and to facilitate the rehabilitation of such lands where applicable.

2018-11-07T16:14:21+00:005 July 2015|

/Le Règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains (RPRT)

Le Règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains (RPRT)

Le règlement sur la protection et la réhabilitation des terrains (RPRT) a été adopté le 26 février 2003. Le RPRT pour but d’assurer une protection accrue des terrains et de leur réhabilitation en cas de contamination, et ce tout en appliquant des dispositions présente dans la section IV. de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (articles 31.42 à 31.69).

Les principaux objectifs visés par les amendements législatifs sont :

  • D’améliorer la gestion des terrains contaminés au Québec
  • D’assurer la réhabilitation progressive des terrains contaminés
  • De mettre fin à l’augmentation des sites orphelins

 

L’annexe 1 et 2 du règlement fixe les valeurs limites réglementaires des critères génériques d’usage des sols et des eaux souterraines contenues dans la Politique de protection des sols et de réhabilitation des terrains contaminés (PPSRTC).

En outre, l’annexe 3 du RPRT liste les activités industrielles ou commerciales désignées pour lesquelles une caractérisation est obligatoire sous certaines conditions décrites dans la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement. Ce règlement permet également de faciliter la mise en place du pouvoir d’ordonnance du ministre lui permettant d’obliger, dans certains cas, la réalisation de travaux de caractérisation (article 31.49) et de réhabilitation (article 31.43).

Finalement, le 12 janvier 2012 est entré en vigueur le Règlement modifiant le RPRT. Selon le MELCC, cette modification du RPRT a pour but d’assurer une protection des droits des futurs acquéreurs et utilisateurs de terrains à usage mixte ainsi que de faciliter dans certains cas la réhabilitation de ces terrains.

2018-11-07T16:13:38+00:005 juillet 2015|