Mold2018-11-08T12:12:35+00:00

Mold

Mold is derived from fungal microorganisms. This group of organisms similarly includes fungi and yeasts. The molds grow under certain favorable conditions including the presence of moisture and a nutrient which must be of organic type. Moisture can result from several problems, including water entering a building or inadequate ventilation. The nutritive material may consist of several substances including: plant material, wallpaper, adhesives, cardboard tiles for suspended ceilings, or any material that easily absorbs water.

Of a general nature, molds can be identified by the presence of discoloration spots (black, green, gray and white), musty or earthy odors. In addition, they can also be found in non-visible places, ex. inside walls or ventilation ducts. Depending on the type of mold present, the exposure time and the condition of the occupants, mold can lead to health problems (eg.: allergies and respiratory diseases) in addition to structural problems within the building. According to the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC), many groups of people are at risk for developing health problems. These groups include pregnant women, young children and the elderly, as well as those who already have health problems such as respiratory problems or a weakened immune system. Thus, these people are at higher risk when they are exposed to mold.

Since molds require a lot of moisture to grow, it is important to control the relative humidity inside a building. In this regard, CMHC recommends that the relative humidity of a room be kept below 50%. In the event of a source of moisture from outside (eg.: water seepage or condensation), the exterior walls of the building must be repaired to maintain adequate ventilation.

It should be noted that, according to CMHC, mold on small surfaces (eg.: window sills) does not pose a serious problem. In the event that there are large impacted areas (eg.: plasterboard), it is recommended that Environment PH be contacted for the services related to mold sampling and air testing of your building.

Any questions?

Contact us. We will gladly provide you with advice and solutions to your problems.

contact us

//Échantillonnage de moisissures
Échantillonnage de moisissures2018-07-16T16:02:26+00:00

Moisissures

Les moisissures sont issues des micro-organismes fongiques. Ce groupe d’organismes inclut pareillement les champignons et les levures. Les moisissures s’accroissent sous certaines conditions favorables dont la présence d’humidité et d’une matière nutritive laquelle doit être de type organique. L’humidité peut découler de plusieurs problèmes, dont l’infiltration d’eau dans un bâtiment ou en raison d’une ventilation inadéquate. La matière nutritive peut être constituée de plusieurs substances dont :  la matière végétale, du papier peint, des colles, de tuiles cartonnées de plafonds suspendus, ou de tout matériau qui absorbe aisément l’eau.

D’ordre général, les moisissures peuvent être repérées par la présence de taches de décoloration (noire, verte, grise et blanche), par des odeurs de moisi ou de terre. De plus, elles peuvent pareillement se retrouver à des endroits non visibles, ex. l’intérieur des murs ou des conduits de ventilation. Selon le type de moisissures présent, le temps d’exposition et l’état des occupants, les moisissures peuvent engendrer des problèmes de santé (ex. : allergies et maladies respiratoires) en plus de problèmes structurels du bâtiment. Selon la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL), plusieurs groupes de personnes sont à risque de développer des problèmes de santé. Ces groupes incluent les femmes enceintes, les jeunes enfants et les personnes âgées, ainsi que ceux qui ont déjà des problèmes de santé tels que des troubles respiratoires ou un système immunitaire affaibli. Ainsi, ces personnes sont plus à risque lorsqu’elles sont exposées à des moisissures.

Étant donné que les moisissures nécessitent un apport important d’humidité pour se développer, il est primordial de contrôler l’humidité relative à l’intérieur d’un bâtiment. À ce sujet, la SCHL recommande de maintenir l’humidité relative d’une pièce inférieure à 50%. Advenant une source d’humidité provenant de l’extérieur (ex. : infiltration d’eau ou condensation), le bris ou la défectuosité de l’enveloppe du bâtiment doit être réparé afin de maintenir une ventilation adéquate.

Mentionnons que selon la SCHL, des moisissures sur des petites surfaces (ex. : rebord de fenêtre), ne posent pas de problème sérieux. Dans l’éventualité où il y aurait de grandes surfaces impactées (ex. panneau de plâtre), il est recommandé de faire appel à Environnement PH pour les services relatifs à l’échantillonnage des moisissures et aux tests d’air de votre bâtiment.

Des questions?

Contactez-nous. Il nous fera plaisir de vous éclairer et de trouver solutions à vos problèmes.

contactez-nous