/Contaminated Lands Issues in Quebec

Contaminated Lands Issues in Quebec

The issues related to the rehabilitation of contaminated lands are important and numerous. In Canada, the economic benefits resulting from the rehabilitation of metropolitan contaminated sites are between $4.6 and $7 billion. These amounts take into account the increase in tax revenues, the reduction of health and transportation costs and a greater productivity and protection of agricultural lands. Thus, the rehabilitation of urban contaminated sites (UCS) not only reduces urban sprawl through a decrease in demand for agricultural or undeveloped urban lands, but also provides a productive and useful purpose for such areas (Grou, 1999). In Quebec, the ClimatSol and Revi-Sols programs alone have enabled the revitalization of over 400 parcels, which allowed for the construction of homes worth over $3 billion and an annual increase of $100 million in municipal taxes (Environment, 2013b).

Furthermore, the organic compounds found in contaminated soils represent many risks to human health. For example, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAH) can have carcinogenic effects on humans and other mammals (Environment Canada, 2010). The rehabilitation of urban contaminated sites also prevents the contamination of surface and ground water. Therefore, such rehabilitation works mitigate the risks to human health and improve public security. It should be noted that, although the current state of a contaminated site does not constitute a danger, it still poses a potential risk to the quality of the environment and the health of future users (Grou, 1999).

Moreover, the rehabilitation of urban contaminated sites contributes to reducing greenhouse gas emissions (GGE) with a decline in urban and transportation levels. These rehabilitated urban sites also help to improve the image of urban centres as well as the quality of life of their inhabitants (Environment Network, 2013a). Also, environmental risks are better managed and fauna and flora better protected.

While contaminated soils are primarily perceived as a health and environmental protection issue, it is also important to consider social and economic consequences as the rehabilitation of urban contaminated sites can greatly boost the surrounding areas and stimulate economic growth. Indeed, for each dollar invested in the rehabilitation of contaminated sites, $3.80 is invested on average in the economy (FCM, 2009). According to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM): “investment in contaminated sites rehabilitation has a multiplier (or stimulating) effect on the Canadian economy that is greater than investments in any other area [Translation] (FCM, 2009). The major economic implications of the rehabilitation of contaminated sites are set out in the box below (FCM, 2009; Grou, 1999).

 

Economical Impacts of Contaminated Sites Rehabilitation:

  • Use of an asset of dubious economic benefit
  • Revitalization of neighbourhoods that can host new value-creating projects
  • Development of decontamination techniques and treatments (research and development) and marketing potential
  • Urban sprawl decrease (and therefore a decrease in public infrastructure costs, etc.)
  • Tax revenue increases
  • Catalyzing development in surrounding areas
  • Reviving the local economy (e.g. job creation)
  • New infrastructure construction
  • Increase in tax revenues and the value of properties
  • More efficient use of existing territory and infrastructures
  • Creation of soil decontamination centres of expertise

 

From a standpoint of sustainable urban development in Quebec, the management of UCSs should be a priority for all PPs, since the rehabilitation of these sites will generate environmental, social and economic returns for the whole of society (Environment Network, 2013a). As mentioned by Kren Leibovici, GMF Council President: “Site reclamation can enhance life quality, stimulate economic development and turn environmental responsibility into collective wealth.[Translation]” (FCM, 2009. p.5).

 

Author: Véronique Belley-Vezina

Essay excerpts: Vers un traitement durable des sols au Québec : Possibilité et perspectives des traitements in site des sols contaminés aux hydrocarbures [Towards sustainable soil treatment in Quebec: Opportunities and in-site treatments of hydrocarbon contaminated soils]

 

References:

FCM (2009). Brownfields. Under Federation of Canadian Municipalities. Green Municipal Fund (GMF).

Grou, J. (1999). Les incitations stratégiques de réhabilitation des SUC et réhabilitables : L’état de la question [Strategic incentives for the rehabilitation of SUCs and brownfields: Briefing Note]. Environmental studies master’s essay, Sherbrooke University, p. 92.

Réseau Environnement (2013a). Réseau Environnement proposes to the government the creation of a rehabilitation assistance fund: Press release. Under Réseau Environnement. Réseau Environnement. (Page viewed on November 26, 2013).

Rehabilitation of contaminated sites: New funding model for the sustainable development of municipalities in Quebec. Under Réseau Environnement. Réseau Environnement. (Page viewed on November 28, 2013)

2018-07-13T13:15:59+00:0020 June 2015|

/Enjeux liés aux terrains contaminés au Québec

Enjeux liés aux terrains contaminés au Québec

Les enjeux liés à la réhabilitation des sols contaminés sont grands et multiples. Au Canada, les retombées engendrées par le réaménagement des sites métropolitains contaminés sont entre 4,6 et 7 milliards de dollars. Ces montants prennent en compte l’augmentation des recettes fiscales, la réduction des frais de santé et de transports et une plus grande productivité et préservation des terres agricoles. Ainsi, la réhabilitation des sites urbains contaminés (SUC) permet non seulement de diminuer l’étalement urbain par une diminution de la demande de terrains non développés ou agricoles, mais également elle confère à ces terrains une vocation productive et utile (Grou, 1999). Au Québec, les programmes ClimatSol et Revi-Sols ont permis à eux seuls de revitaliser plus de 400 terrains menant à la construction d’habitations d’une valeur supérieure à 3 milliards de dollars et à une augmentation annuelle de 100 millions de dollars en taxes municipales Environnement, 2013b).

En outre, les risques pour la santé humaine des sols contaminés par des composés organiques sont nombreux. Par exemple, les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques (HAP) ont des effets potentiellement cancérogènes pour les humains et autres mammifères (Environnement Canada, 2010). La réhabilitation de sites contaminés en zone urbaine permet également de prévenir une contamination des eaux de surface et souterraines. Par conséquent, cette réhabilitation engendre une diminution des risques pour la santé humaine et une amélioration de la sécurité publique. Il est à noter que bien que l’état actuel d’un site contaminé ne constitue pas de danger, il représente toujours un risque potentiel pour la qualité de l’environnement ainsi que pour la santé des futurs utilisateurs (Grou, 1999).

De plus, la réhabilitation des sites urbains contaminés contribue à diminuer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) grâce à une diminution de l’étalement urbain et des transports. Ces sites urbains réhabilités contribuent également à redorer l’image des centres urbains ainsi que la qualité de vie des gens qui côtoient ces lieux (Réseau Environnement, 2013a). Les risques en matière d’environnement sont de surcroît mieux gérés et la préservation de la faune et de la flore est favorisée.

Bien que les sols contaminés soient de prime abord perçus comme un problème de protection de la santé et de l’environnement, les conséquences sociales et économiques s’avèrent également importantes à prendre en compte, car la réhabilitation des sites urbains contaminés peut contribuer fortement à dynamiser les zones environnantes et à stimuler la croissance économique. En effet, pour chaque dollar investi dans le réaménagement des sites contaminés, près de 3,80 $ sont en moyenne investis dans l’économie (FCM, 2009). Selon la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM) : « l’investissement dans le réaménagement de sites contaminés a sur l’économie canadienne un effet multiplicateur (ou stimulant) plus important que l’investissement dans tout autre secteur » (FCM, 2009). Les principales incidences économiques liées à la réhabilitation de sites contaminés sont présentées dans l’encadré ci-dessous (FCM, 2009 ; Grou, 1999).

 

Incidences économiques liées à la réhabilitation de sites contaminés :

  • Utilisation d’un actif ayant plus ou moins d’utilité économique
  • Revitalisation de quartiers qui peuvent servir de sites pour de nouveaux projets créateurs de valeur
  • Développement de techniques et de traitements de décontamination (recherche et développement) et potentiel de commercialisation
  • 
Diminution de l’étalement urbain (et donc une diminution des dépenses d’infrastructures publiques, etc.)
  • Accroissement des recettes fiscales
  • 
Catalyser le développement dans les secteurs environnants
  • Relancer l’économique locale (ex. : création d’emplois)
  • 
Construction de nouvelles infrastructures
  • Augmentation des revenus de taxation et de la valeur des propriétés
  • Utilisation plus efficiente du territoire et des infrastructures existantes
  • Création de centres d’expertise endécontamination de sols

 

Dans une perspective de développement urbain durable au Québec, la gestion des SUC se doit d’être une priorité pour l’ensemble des PP puisque la réhabilitation de ces sites engendre des retombées environnementales, sociales et économiques pour l’ensemble de la société québécoise (Réseau Environnement, 2013a). Tel que cité par Madame Kren Leibovici, présidente du Conseil du FMV : « La remise en valeur des sites peut améliorer la qualité de vie, stimuler le développement économique et transformer une responsabilité environnementale en richesse collective » (FCM, 2009. p.5).

 

Auteur : Véronique Belley-Vézina

Extraits de l’essai : « Vers un traitement durable des sols au Québec : Possibilité et perspectives des traitements in site des sols contaminés aux hydrocarbures »

 

Références :

FCM (2009). Les sites contaminés. In Fédération canadienne des municipalités. Fonds municipal vert (FCM).

Grou, J. (1999). Les incitations stratégiques de réhabilitation des SUC et réhabilitables : L’état de la question. Essai de maîtrise en environnement, Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, 92 p.

Réseau Environnement (2013a). Réseau environnement propose au gouvernement la mise sur pied du fonds d’aide à la réhabilitation : Communiqué de Presse. In Réseau environnement. Réseau environnement. (Page consultée le 26 novembre 2013).

Réseau Environnement (2013b). Réhabilitation de sites contaminés : Nouveau modèle de financement pour un aménagement durable des municipalités au Québec. In Réseau Environnement. Réseau Environnement. (Page consultée le 28 novembre 2013)

2018-03-28T16:59:29+00:0020 juin 2015|